Uncategorized

The attitude of Christ

1 Peter 4:1,14,16 NIV
Therefore, since Christ suffered in his body, arm yourselves also with the same attitude, because whoever suffers in the body is done with sin. If you are insulted because of the name of Christ, you are blessed, for the Spirit of glory and of God rests on you. However, if you suffer as a Christian, do not be ashamed, but praise God that you bear that name.

What jumped out at me? Since Christ suffered, arm myself with the same attitude. Whoever suffers in the body is done with sin. Also, scripture says if you are insulted because of the name of Christ, you are blessed, for the spirit of glory and of God rests on you. We are to praise God that we bear the name Christian when we suffer.

How will this affect my life? Responding with love like Jesus did, no matter what people say or think or do. Seriously that to the fullest extent. Christ was the example. Imagine how he felt when no one believed him or in him and he took that unbelief to the cross and hung there bleeding as the sacrifice. I have no right to get an attitude when insulted or offended. Look at what Jesus went through. He never was offended. He had mercy, he responded with everything but an offended attitude. I will let these actions of Christ reflect in my life by being more like him. That means dying to myself every day. Staying in the word of God, focusing on who Jesus is, not this world because our bodies are temporary, one day we won’t have to face evil and persecution but until that day I will gladly be persecuted for the one that died to save my life.

My prayer: Jesus I love you but know that you love me so much more that you gave your life for me and all. I pray that in the times of desperation people around me are experiencing and the rest in this world that people would turn to you with their whole hearts. Jesus I know you are the hope this world needs. Help me to be that hope. Help me Christ to have the attitude you have, forgiving, graceful, and loving especially when I don’t feel like it. Forgive me Father for when my attitude doesn’t please you. I repent to you for that. Help me to be different, to truly reflect the character of your Son in ALL times. Let nothing come out of my heart or into my heart that is not of you. Guard my heart in Christ Jesus. Guard my tongue, help me to speak life with your love. Thank you Holy Spirit. You are welcome here! Thank you Jesus for freedom! Amen.

Boldybrokentogether

Leave a Reply

